ShareThis Page
New Year’s Eve countdown specials 2019: Where to watch, who has the best celebrity guests |

New Year’s Eve countdown specials 2019: Where to watch, who has the best celebrity guests

Ryan Seacrest once again hosts Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve.

Staying in for New Year’s Eve? If so, there are quite a few TV options, and it just depends on your mood: Do you want to see Christina Aguilera on ABC’s “New Year’s Rockin’ Eve” for the first time in a decade? Snoop Dogg on Fox? Jennifer Lopez on NBC? Here’s a rundown of all the countdown specials to ring in 2019:

Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2019 (ABC)

When: 8 to 11 p.m., break for local news, then 11:30 p.m. to 1:09 a.m.

Where: New York City

Host: Ryan Seacrest and Jenny McCarthy Wahlberg in New York; Ciara in Los Angeles; Lucy Hale in New Orleans

Performers: Christina Aguilera, Bastille, Dan + Shay, Post Malone and New Kids on the Block in New York; Lauren Alaina, Kelsea Ballerini, Bazzi, Kane Brown, Camila Cabello, The Chainsmokers, Ciara, Foster the People, Halsey, Dua Lipa, Ella Mai, Shawn Mendes, Charlie Puth, Weezer, Macklemore and Skylar Grey from Los Angeles; Florida Georgia Line and Maren Morris in New Orleans.

NBC’s New Year’s Eve

When: 10 to 11 p.m., break for local news, then 11:30 p.m. to 12:30 a.m.

Where: New York City

Host: Carson Daly, Chrissy Teigen and Leslie Jones

Performers: Diana Ross, Jennifer Lopez, Kelly Clarkson, Andy Grammer, John Legend, Blake Shelton and Bebe Rexha in New York; Keith Urban and Brett Young in Nashville.

Extras: At 8 p.m., “Today” hosts Hoda Kotb and the soon-to-be-departing Kathie Lee Gifford will host the two-hour special “A Toast to 2018,” which looks back at the year’s pop culture highlights; they’ll be joined by Michael Buble, Ellie Kemper, Kenan Thompson and Busy Philipps.

Fox’s New Year’s Eve with Steve Harvey: Live from Times Square

When: 8 to 10 p.m., break for local news, then 11 p.m. to 12:30 a.m.

Where: New York City

Hosts: Steve Harvey and Maria Menounos

Performers: Sting, Snoop Dogg, Robin Thicke, Florence + the Machine, Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Juanes and Why Don’t We

Extras: There will be cameos from Gordon Ramsay, Ken Jeong, Nicole Scherzinger, Kenan Thompson and the “NFL Sunday” commentating crew.

New Year’s Eve Live with Anderson Cooper and Andy Cohen (CNN or

When: 8 p.m. to 12:30 a.m.

Where: New York City

Hosts: Anderson Cooper and Andy Cohen

Performers: Gwen Stefani in Las Vegas; Keith Urban in Nashville; Patti LaBelle, Jack Black and Dave Chappelle

Extras: When Cooper and Cohen sign off at 12:30 a.m., Brooke Baldwin and Don Lemon will stick around for another 35 minutes in New Orleans to ring in 2019 in Central Time.

Countdown Feliz 2019 (Univision)

When: 9 p.m. to 3 a.m.

Where: New York City

Hosts: Nearly 20 different hosts in New York, Los Angeles, Miami and Las Vegas

Performers: Mau y Ricky, Lali Espósito and Paulina Rubio in New York; Joss Favela, Lupita Infante and Mariachi Divas in Los Angeles; Pitbull, DJ Chino and Chyno Miranda in Miami; Anuel AA, Banda Los Recoditos, Calibre 50, Luis Coronel, Karol G, Christian Nodal and Sebastian Yatra in Las Vegas.

All-American New Year (Fox News Channel)

When: 10 p.m. to 1 a.m.

Where: New York City

Hosts: Lisa “Kennedy” Montgomery and Pete Hegseth

Performers: Bebe Rexha, Lovelytheband and Ninja

Extras: At 8 p.m., Carley Shimkus hosts “Countdown to All-American New Year,” and Fox News correspondents will provide coverage from celebrations around the country.

New Year’s Eve webcast from Times Square

When: 6 p.m. to 12:15 a.m.

Where: New York City

Host: TV personality Allison Hagendorf

Performers: Bebe Rexha, Lovelytheband and dance crew The Lab

Emily Yahr is a writer for The Washington Post.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.