Arts council’s juried art exhibition opens at SAMA |
Out & About

Arts council’s juried art exhibition opens at SAMA

Rebecca Emanuele | TRIB TOTAL MEDIA
(from left) Exhibiting artist, Skip Allen, of Ligonier, Bonnie Hoffman, SPCA Treasurer, Janet Bucciarelli, SPCA President, and exhibiting artist, Mike McSorley, of North Versailles, gather during the opening reception for the Southwestern Pennsylvania Council for the Arts, 19th Annual Regional Juried Art Exhibition, at the Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art at Ligonier Valley, Saturday evening, November 22, 2014.

Making its debut Nov. 22 in the Southern Alleghenies Museum of Art at Ligonier Valley was the Southwestern Pennsylvania Council for the Arts 19th Annual Regional Juried Art Exhibition.

If the name is a mouthful, maybe it needs to be, to express the depth and scope of the undertaking and its accomplishments. Site coordinator Sommer Toffle labels the show a “must see.”

Running through Feb. 8, it presents 66 works by 66 artists from the 19 counties making up the southwest corner of the commonwealth. Works run the gamut from pencil on paper and ink on canvas to woodworking, cast silicone, oils, pastels, watercolors, photos, glass, fiber and more.

Juror was oil painter Susan Howard of Villanova, whose work has shown nationally and internationally and is featured in The State Museum of Pennsylvania.

These artists were recognized during the opening reception: Maura Koehler Keeney, first prize; Diana Williams, second prize; Larry Mallory, third prize; Xan Mayer, award of excellence in painting; and Paul McMillan, David DiPietro, Dave Hammaker and Pat Majcher, awards of merit.

A critic’s choice award, chosen and presented by Trib art critic Kurt Shaw, went to Benjamin Thomas. A people’s choice award will be awarded Feb. 8.

SPCA officers on the scene includedJanet Bucciarrelli with Gary, Susan Kiren with Bill, Thomas Niggel and Bonnie Hoffman with Bill, along with board membersSally Loughran, Arlene Kendra with Bob, John Mickinak, Susan Pollins, Doris Wood and William Fischer.

Also seen: Madelon Sheedy, Cliff McGuire, Shirleah Kelly, Skip Allen, Dar Thomas, Alex Mickinak, Eileen Stoner, Alexis Dillon, John and Vernie West, Jaime Cooper, Peg Panasiti, Mary Weidlein, Lucy Stewart, Bill Smail, Gene andBarbara Kravits, Bonnie Hill, Vince Spinelli and Tracy Heintzelman.

— Shirley McMarlin

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.