9 North Allegheny grads to be honored as distinguished alumni at Jan. 28 gala |
North Hills

9 North Allegheny grads to be honored as distinguished alumni at Jan. 28 gala

Tony LaRussa

The North Allegheny Foundation will honor nine graduates for their contributions to the arts, business, community service, government, law, medicine and science at its second annual Distinguished Alumni Gala on Jan. 28.

The event will be held at the DoubleTree Hotel in Warrandale. Tickets are available online .

North Allegheny teacher Chris Jackson, who recently was named the Pennsylvania Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year, also will be recognized at the event.

Following are the winners of this year’s Distinguished Alumni awards. More details about them are available on the North Allegheny Alumni Network website.


Jeff Sewald, Class of 1979. Award winning writer and filmmaker.


Yie-Hsin Hung, Class of 1980. Chief executive officer, New York Life Investment Management LLC

Community Service

Larry Richert, Class of 1976. Journalist, KDKA Radio.

Gregg Behr, Class of 1991. Executive director of The Grable Foundation


Gloria Flora, Class of 1973. Founder and director of Sustainable Obtainable Solutions.


Jerome (Jerry) Richey, Class of 1967. University of Pittsburgh senior vice chancellor and chief legal officer, retired.


William Kearns, Class of 1970. Co-founder, president and chief scientific officer for AdvaGenix.


Timothy Hoellein, Class of 1996. Assistant professor of biology at Loyola University.

40 and Under

Ben Butler, Class of 2010. Founder and client services director for Top Hat marketing.

Tony LaRussa is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Tony at 724-772-6368 or [email protected] or via Twitter @TonyLaRussaTrib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.