ShareThis Page
2 more candidates declare for Butler County commission nomination |

2 more candidates declare for Butler County commission nomination

| Monday, January 5, 2015 9:43 a.m

Two more Butler County residents Monday formally announced their candidacies for county commissioner.

Kim Geyer, 52, a Republican from Adams, is an administrative assistant for commission Chairman Bill McCarrier. She is a former Mars Area School Board director, who served one of three terms as president. She is a trustee at Butler County Community College.

“With unique insight and common sense, I will apply my proven leadership skills and real-life experiences to help move Butler County into a new era of growth and vitality for the benefit of all taxpayers,” Geyer said in a statement.

Jeff Smith, 59, a Republican from Butler, is Butler’s treasurer and supply chain manager for PPG Industries. He is the president and director of the Butler County Council of Governments and the former chairman of the Butler County Republican Committee.

“My goal will be to have the most effective county government in the commonwealth at the lowest possible cost,” Smith said in a statement.

McCarrier and Dale Pinkerton, both Republicans, have said they will not run for re-election. Geyer and Smith join a growing field of candidates before the May primary.

Other Republican candidates include Lisa Metcalfe, 28, of Cranberry; Leslie Osche, 50, of Meridian; Larry Thompson, 61, of Oakland Township; Ed Natali, 50, of Butler Township; and Dean Pikoulas, 62, of Center.

Democratic candidates include Kevin Boozel, 43, of Mercer; and Jerry Johnston, 65, of Butler Township.

Jim Eckstein, 58, the only Democrat on the three-member board of commissioners, previously said he’ll run for a second four-year term.

The top two vote-getters from each party will move on to the November election.

Bill Vidonic is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 412-380-5621 or

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.