ShareThis Page
A look at the new congressional districts |

A look at the new congressional districts

| Monday, November 4, 2002 12:00 a.m

This is a breakdown of the new congressional districts in western Pennsylvania adopted Thursday by the General Assembly:


The district includes parts of Allegheny County and the Westmoreland County municipalities of Delmont, Export and Murrysville.


It includes parts of Allegheny, Armstrong and Somerset counties; parts of Fayette , including Uniontown and wards 1, 2, 6 and part of Ward 3 of Connellsville; Brownsville and Bullskin townships; a portion of Dunbar Township, including districts 2, 3 and 4; Franklin Township; a portion of Georges Township, including districts 3 and 4; German, Jefferson, Lower Tyrone, Luzerne, Menallen and Nicholson townships; part of North Union Township, including districts 1, 2, 4 and 5; Perry, Redstone and Saltlick townships; part of South Union Township, including districts 1 and 2; Springhill Township, District 2 only; Upper Tyrone and Washington townships; boroughs of Belle Vernon, Brownsville, Dawson, Dunbar, Everson, Fayette City, Masontown, Newell, Perryopolis, Point Marion and Vanderbilt; all of Greene County; parts of Indiana County , including Cherryhill and Pine townships; part of White Township, including districts 1 and 2; Clymer and Indiana, districts 1 and 2 only; part of Westmoreland County , including Arnold, Latrobe, Lower Burrell, Monessen, New Kensington; townships of Allegheny, Bell, Derry and Fairfield; East Huntingdon Township, Bessemer District only; a portion of Hempfield Township, including the districts of Bovard, Hannastown and Luxor; Loyalhanna Township; a portion of Mt. Pleasant Township, including the districts of Bridgeport, Duncan, Hecla, Laurel Run, Mammoth, Spring Garden, United and Westmoreland; Rostraver and St. Clair townships; part of Salem Township, including the districts of Hugus and Mechlings; a portion of Sewickley Township, including the districts of East Herminie, Lowber, Rillton, Sewickley and West Herminie; South Huntingdon Township, districts of Jacobs Creek, Mineral, Port Royal, Wayne, Wyano and Yukon; a portion of Unity Township, including the districts of Crabtree, Dorothy and Lloydsville; Upper Burrell Township; part of Washington Township, including the districts of North Washington and Paulton; and the boroughs of Avonmore, Bolivar, Derry East Vandergrift, Hyde Park, Mt. Pleasant, New Alexandria, New Florence, North Belle Vernon, Oklahoma, Scottdale, Seward, Smithton, Sutersville, Vandergrift, West Leechburg and West Newton.


The district includes part of Allegheny and Washington counties; and part of Westmoreland County , including Greensburg, Jeannette, Adamsburg, Arona, Donegal, Hunker, Irwin, Laurel Mountain, Ligonier, Madison, Manor, New Stanton, North Irwin, Penn, South Greensburg, Southwest Greensburg, Youngstown, Youngwood; the Westmoreland County portion of Trafford; Cook and Donegal townships; a portion of East Huntingdon Township, including the districts of Ruffsdale, Stoners, Strohms and White; a portion of Hempfield Township, including Alwine, Carbon, East Adamsburg, Eastview, Fort Allen, Foxhill, Gayville, Grapeville, Haydenville, High Park, Lincoln Heights, Lincoln Heights West, Maplewood, Middletown, New Stanton, North Carbon, Sibel, Todd, University, Valley, Weavers Old Stand, Wegley, Wendel, Herminie, West Hempfield and West Point; a portion of Mt. Pleasant Township, including the districts of Pleasant Valley and Ridgeview; North Huntingdon, Ligonier and Penn townships; the Salem Township districts of Five Points, New Salem, Slickville, Steeles and Trees Mills; the Sewickley Township district of Whyel; South Huntingdon Township, districts of Hixon and South Huntingdon; Unity Township districts of Baggaley, Beatty, Dennison, Gravel Hill, Kuhns, Marguerite, Mutual, Pleasant Unity, Roble and Whitney; and the Washington Township districts of Beamers and Oakland Cross Roads.

is a former freelancer.

Categories: News
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.