ShareThis Page
Baldwin’s swimmers, divers anticipating successful postseason results |

Baldwin’s swimmers, divers anticipating successful postseason results

Jennifer Goga
| Wednesday, December 19, 2012 8:50 p.m

The Baldwin boys’ and girls’ swimming teams have changed their focus from last year, when the boys’ team fell just short of winning the section.

After losing 12 seniors to graduation, both squads have set their sights on reaching individual goals and attaining post-season success.

“This year, the talent is there, but the depth is not. But I expect us to have our best postseason ever,” said Wendy Lutz, Baldwin’s eighth-year head coach.

Lutz predicts Baldwin will send a record 10 individual qualifiers to the WPIAL Class AAA championship meet later in the season, and is confident all six relays will qualify as well.

Three Baldwin swimmers and two divers already have qualified.

Nick Roth, a senior, qualified in the boys’ 200 freestyle and 100 breaststroke. Juniors Brendan Antenucci and Brendan Hoydick qualified in the 100 backstroke.

Roth, Antenucci, Hoydick and junior Trey Brown also qualified in the 200 medley and the 400 freestyle relays.

Sara Conklin, a junior, is close to qualifying in the girls’ 100 butterfly.

“Our diving team is bigger than ever this year,” Lutz said. “We have so many that we have two girls that we roster on the boys’ team.”

Senior Fallon Ferrari and junior Zach Murray already have qualified for the WPIAL Class AAA diving finals.

Along with Ferrari, junior Jill McDonnell and sophomore Dominique Cozza are diving for the girls’ team.

Diving for the Baldwin boys’ team are Murray, junior Adam Arnold, and freshmen Samantha Conklin and Madison Pavlick.

The girls’ relays are also expected to qualify for the WPIAL championships.

Swimmers expected to compete for spots on those relay units include juniors Kaylee Krugh and Sara Conklin, sophomore Ali Ryan, plus freshmen Jillian Pritchard, Katy Werner and Jennifer Popovski.

Remaining team members include Nate Benton, Wyatt Sullivan, Allie Claherty, Natalie Garda, Bryan Ihrig, Jill McDonnell, Zach Ward, Nick Depretis, Daniel Maloney, Tom Schaefer, Carlee Wroblewski, Terrence Ahlin, Samantha Conklin, Sarah Hanson and Allison Miller.

“I’m expecting a very competitive dual meet season,” Lutz said. “But this is going to be one of those years where we can’t let our record define our success.”

Jennifer Goga is a freelance writer.

Categories: News
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.