ShareThis Page
Big 7 honors three BVA players |

Big 7 honors three BVA players

| Tuesday, November 24, 2009 12:00 a.m

Belle Vernon Area put three players on the Big Seven Conference first team.

Representing the Leps were junior 1,000-yard rusher Matt Green, senior offensive tackle Tyler Sellew and senior punter Joe Walko.

Champion Thomas Jefferson led the way with eight selections. followed by runner-up Chartiers Valley with seven.

Thomas Jefferson’s Jim Giansante and Chartiers Valley’s Cory Rekasie had the distinction of being named to the first team on both offense and defense.

Doubling as a receiver and linebacker, Giansante was named the MVP on offense.

A center and defensive lineman, Rekasie was named the MVP on defense.

T.J.’s Bill Cherpak was named coach of the year.

Belle Vernon Area placed five on the second team, with Ringgold showing four players and Elizabeth Forward two.

The Leps’ second teamers were senior center Andrew Spate and junior tight end Mike Thayer on offense and senior linebacker Spencer Lynn, sophomore linebacker Adam Cole and Green in the secondary.

Ringgold’s second teamers were senior receiver Ryan Rosenfeld and junior multipurpose back Dylan Patch on offense and junior linebacker Neal Rands and junior safety Derrick Fiore on defense.

Senior running back Josh Pomilio and senior defensive lineman Greg Sotereanos were Elizabeth Forward’s second teamers.

Receiving honorable mention were two BVA linemen, junior Matt Naylor and Sellew, Ringgold sophomore kicker Skyler Fransko, junior lineman Nick DePalma and junior linebacker Damond Goggins and Elizabeth Forward senior guard Riley Kern, junior linebacker Mike Belardia and punter Pomilio.

The entire Big Seven Conference team is on Page 3B.

Categories: News
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.