ShareThis Page
BPL Global, CEO Schaefer take honors from Pittsburgh Technology Council |

BPL Global, CEO Schaefer take honors from Pittsburgh Technology Council

Keith Schaefer of smart grid technology company BPL Global Ltd. was named CEO of the Year on Thursday night as the Pittsburgh Technology Council presented its annual Tech 50 awards.

Schaefer, with nearly a quarter-century of experience leading businesses ranging from startups to global corporations, received the award at an event in the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Downtown.

BPL Global itself was named the region’s top “green” technology company in the council’s annual honors for 50 leading technology companies in eight categories.

The Sewickley-based company that Schaefer co-founded five years ago sells smart grid software and equipment that helps utilities worldwide to manage electricity demand for maximum efficiency, and detect outages and other problems. Its products also run broadband systems that allow consumers to access the Internet over power lines.

BPL Global is “leading the transformation of energy delivery,” said Audrey Russo, the technology council’s president, before last night’s program.

Other finalists for the CEO award were Jim Cashman of engineering simulation software maker Ansys Inc., of Cecil; Dr. Brandon Chan of diagnostic imaging services company Foundation Radiology Group PC, Downtown; Ilana Diamond of consumer electronics maker Sima Products Corp., Oakmont; and Sean McDonald of cancer treatment innovator Precision Therapeutics Inc., South Side.

Tech 50 honorees must be headquartered in Allegheny or 12 nearby counties. Companies can be public or private, and the awards are based on product advancements, sales and employment growth and other areas.

Before BPL Global, Schaefer was senior partner at Constellation Partners in San Francisco and held positions with Viacom, Paramount Communications Technology Group and other companies.

He co-authored “Net Results,” an Internet marketing book used as a reference text at business schools.

List of award winners

Advanced Manufacturing

Winner: Universal Electric Corp.

Finalists: All Water Systems Inc., Classic Industries Inc., Converteam, Data Science Automation Inc., Kurt J. Lesker Co., LaBarge Inc.

Art + Technology

Winner: Bright Innovation LLC

Finalists: Bally Design Inc., DeepLocal, Sim Ops Studios Inc., The Mattress Factory.

Green Technology

Winner: BPL Global

Finalists: Cardinal Resources, Eaton, Epiphany Solar Water Systems, Fossil Free Fuel LLC.

High Rise

Winner: Ansys Inc.

Finalists : McKesson Automation Inc., Vocollect Inc.

Information Technology

Winner: Vivisimo Inc.

Finalists: 4C Technologies, Apangea Learning Inc., BitArmor Systems Inc., Carnegie Speech Co., Confluence, KIT Solutions LLC, Netronome Systems.

Life Sciences

Winner: Net Health Systems Inc.

Finalists: Blue Belt Technologies Inc., ClearCount Medical Solutions, Cohera Medical Inc., invivodata Inc., Starr Life Sciences Corp., Wright Therapy Products Inc., Zoll Lifecor Corp.

Rising Star

Winner: Bossa Nova Robotics

Finalists: ATRP Solutions Inc., Bossa Nova Robotics, Cognition Therapeutics Inc., Foundation Radiology Group PC, ShowClix LLC, Sierra w/o Wires Inc., Synergy Staffing Inc.

Service Provider


Finalists: Cogent Infotech Corp., Ideal Integrations Inc., L. Robert Kimball & Associates, Newton Consulting LLC, Precise Technology, SDLC Partners LP.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.