ShareThis Page
BVA’s Latham MVP |

BVA’s Latham MVP

| Saturday, May 18, 2002 12:00 a.m

The WPIAL baseball steering committee wasn’t the only one to not show Sec. 5 champion Belle Vernon Area any respect by not seeding the 15-2 Leps among the top three in the playoffs.

Neither did the Sec. 5 coaches.

Despite winning their second straight section title by three games over Mt. Pleasant, the Leps didn’t dominate the Sec. 5 all-star team.

Only three BVA players were first teamers while third-place Yough set the pace with four.

Representing the Leps were pitchers Tim Latham and Brian Horner and infielder Aaron Krepps, all seniors.

Latham was also selected the section MVP.

Yough’s quartet consisted of senior catcher Jon Kistler, junior first baseman John DeSimone, senior outfielder Ryan Thompson and sophomore designated hitter Dan Fiore.

Mt. Pleasant had three first teamers in infielders Adam Miscik and Adam Wisniewski and outfielder Wayne Roebuck, all seniors.

Rounding out the first team were infielder Mike Volpi and outfielder Chad Zyma, both East Allegheny seniors, Elizabeth Forward senior pitcher Matt Scurfield and Derry Area senior outfielder Zack Lukon.

BVA had a pair of second teamers in senior infielder Ryan Mimidis and senior outfielder Dan Cieply.

Elizabeth Forward had four second teamers in junior pitcher Chris Letteri, senior outfielder Paul Adams, junior outfielder Mike Mitchko and senior designated hitter Steve Dolph.

Two juniors, infielder Jason Nametska and outfielder John Filapose, represented Yough on the second team.

The other second teamers were Mt. Pleasant seniors pitcher Eric Leonard and catcher Jake Etling, Southmoreland sophomore pitcher Shane Datz and East Allegheny sophomore infielder Steve Nash.

Categories: News
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.