Fox Chapel Area boasts 11 National Merit semifinalists |
Fox Chapel

Fox Chapel Area boasts 11 National Merit semifinalists

Fox Chapel Area School District has 11 students who have earned status as National Merit Semifinalists.

Eleven Fox Chapel Area High School seniors have been named National Merit semifinalists.

The students were selected based on their 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying test scores. About 16,000 students across the country earn the status of semifinalist from among 1.6 million who take the qualifying test. They represent less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors.

Semifinalists must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed by a high school official, write an essay and earn high SAT scores.

The FCA semifinalists are Justin Breen, Arnav Gupta, Theresa Heidenreich, Rachel Himmel, Elizabeth Kaslewicz, Zachary Lakkis, Mitchell Miles, Annika Urban, Gina Wang, Landon Williams and Ziya Xu.

They will compete to advance to the Finalist level and vie for awards worth more than $32 million in the spring.

Another 15 district students have been named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship program. They are recognized for their academic promise and represent the top five percent of the nation’s high school seniors.

They are Vaishavi Agrawal, Abigail Baldauf, Benjamin Cagan, Steven Cano, Kristen Friday, Marissa Hardiman, Sanjana Harish, Cara Himmel, Jayanth Kashyap, Trevor Klatt, Eric Moore, Jared Nord, Robert Shymansky, Benjamin Weiss and Chloe Yofan.

Tawnya Panizzi is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Tawnya at 412-782-2121, ext. 2, [email protected] or via Twitter @tawnyatrib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.