ShareThis Page
Incumbents have tough time in borough, township races |

Incumbents have tough time in borough, township races

| Wednesday, November 4, 2009 12:00 a.m

Many incumbents were defeated in yesterday’s general election while others were able to hang on to their seats for whatever their term allows.

In Scottdale, incumbent Democrat Patricia A. Walker lost in the mayor’s race to Republican Chuck King, who received 62.29 percent of the vote; Walker received 37.71 percent.

Also, in Scottdale’s Ward 1, Andy Pinskey, who cross-filed, received 60.38 percent of the vote, beating out Phillip Haddad, a Conservative, who received 39.62 percent. Both men were seeking the one open council seat.

In Ward 2, Democrat Angelo M. Pallone was the lone candidate. He received 100 percent of the vote. In Ward 4, Bud Santimyer, a Democrat, won as the lone candidate, receiving 100 percent of the vote.

In Vanderbilt, Republican Jack K. Washabaugh won the mayor’s race with 77 percent of the vote. He defeated incumbent Joseph M. Ambrose, a Democrat, who received 23 percent of the vote.

In Dunbar Borough, Republican Ron Gross beat out Democrat and incumbent John C. Williams with Gross receiving 54 percent of the vote, to Williams’ 46 percent.

In Connellsville, barring any write-in campaigns, candidates for council and mayor were uncontested.

Councilman Charles Matthews won the Democratic nomination for mayor in the primary and ran last night unopposed; he received 100 percent of the vote.

For Connellsville City Council, two seats were open with two candidates. Both are Democrats. Marilyn Weaver received 53 percent of the vote. Tom Karpiak received 47 percent.

Connellsville Township residents voted for Republican Robert W. Carson as the new township supervisor with 57 percent of the vote, over Democrat Richard P Adobato, who received 43 percent.

Ronald Haggerty Jr. was the only candidate on the ballot for the magisterial district judge office in Connellsville. He received 100 percent of the vote from Democrats and Republicans.

In the Saltlick Township Supervisor race, Democrat Ed J. Bukovac Jr. received 65 percent of the vote, beating out Republican Chad Yothers with 35 percent.

In the Springfield Township Supervisor race, Democrat Ken Johnson received 58 percent of the vote, over Republican Jim Hall, who received 42 percent.

Uncontested races not mentioned can be viewed on the Fayette County Election Bureau’s Web site:

All results are unofficial until verified by the Fayette County Election Bureau.

Categories: News
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.