ShareThis Page
Leader Times roundup: Apollo-Ridge drops Leechburg |

Leader Times roundup: Apollo-Ridge drops Leechburg

An eagerly awaited rivalry game quickly became a one-sided affair.

Alex Smith scored a game-high 17 points to lead Apollo-Ridge to a 68-42 win over Leechburg in the championship of the Apollo Trust tournament on Tuesday in Spring Church.

Tre Tipton added 15 points, and Duane Brown had 12 and was named tournament MVP for the Vikings (7-3), who pulled out to a 39-11 halftime lead. J.B. Burtick and Christian Hack both scored 13 points for Leechburg (2-7).

Clarion-Limestone 59, West Shamokin 47 Dan Callen scored 18 points, and Clarion-Limestone (7-2) pulled away in the fourth quarter to win the championship of the West Shamokin tournament. Scott Przybysz had a career-high 25 points for West Shamokin (6-3), and Ryan Dean added 12 for the Wolves.

Ford City 43, Karns City 40 Mikey Kunst scored 11 points, and Blake Bower added 10 to send Ford City (6-3) to a win in the West Shamokin tournament consolation game. David Olszak led all scorers with 13 for the Gremlins (1-4).

Mars 71, Freeport 59 John Castello had a game-high 24 points for Class AAA No. 5 Mars (10-1, 4-0) in a Section 1-AAA win. Josh Beale scored 23 points, and Mason Eddinger had 10 points and eight rebounds for the Yellowjackets (8-3, 2-2).

Slippery Rock 45, Kittanning 40 James Webb scored 11 points in a losing effort for Kittanning (2-8) on a long nonsection road trip. Brady Kadlubek led the Rockets with 16 points.

Girls basketball

West Shamokin 57, Highlands 46 Tournament MVP Lizzy Cornish scored 13 points, and Katie Glover had 10 points and 12 rebounds as the Wolves (6-4) were crowned champions of their tournament. Ashlyn Jonczak led all with 19 points for Highlands (3-6).

Redbank Valley 50, Union-Rimersburg 40 Brooke Hinderliter scored 23 points and was named MVP after keeping the Bulldogs (8-0) undefeated in the championship of the Redbank Valley tournament. Lexey Shick scored 20 points to lead Union (3-6).

Apollo-Ridge 47, Saltsburg 41 Julia DeMeno scored 20 points for the second straight game and took MVP honors leading Apollo-Ridge to victory in the championship game of the Apollo Trust Christmas tournament. Mariah Laird added 11 points for the Vikings (7-3) while Abbie Okopal led Saltsburg with 12 points.

Leechburg 64, Wilkinsburg 29 Cameron Davies had 19 points, and Mikayla Lovelace added 15 for Leechburg, which picked up a win in the Apollo Trust tournament consolation game. Makenzie Fello added 10 for the Blue Devils (5-5), while Destine Herring led Wilkinsburg (1-11) with 15 points.

Freeport 47, St. Joseph 42 Zoe Soilis scored a game-high 17 points, made 9 of 10 free throws and grabbed five rebounds to lead Freeport (2-8) to a victory in the consolation game of the St. Joseph tournament. Carli Schwickrath added 10 points, and Jenna Manke grabbed 13 rebounds for Freeport, which snapped a three-game losing streak. Lizzy Celko led St. Joseph (2-6) with nine points.

Hickory 52, Karns City 48 The Gremlins (6-2) couldn’t spring the upset of the host in the Hickory tournament championship game. Hickory (9-0) has won 36 consecutive regular-season games.

Chartiers Valley 62, Kittanning 21 The Colts (6-3) blew past the Wildcats (5-5) in the consolation game of the Butler tournament.

Ford City 44, Riverview 36 Christina Davis scored 14 points and grabbed 10 rebounds for the Sabers (7-1) in a nonsection win. Sadie Buscher led Riverview (6-3) with 13 points.


Robb places fourth For the second consecutive year, Kittanning junior Jacob Robb claimed a fourth-place medal at the Powerade Christmas tournament at Canon-McMillan.

Robb began his day in the 220-pound consolation bracket but navigated through three rounds of action before losing the consolation final by fall to Quinn Miller of Archer (Ga.).

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.