Monessen places four on Eastern’s Second Team |

Monessen places four on Eastern’s Second Team

The Eastern Conference will hold its annual awards banquet Sunday at the Allegheny Valley Fire Hall and pay homage to the all-conference team, as well as other awards winners.

Clairton, the conference champion that will be playing the WPIAL Class A championship game Friday, led the all-conference team with 10 selections on the first two teams and five honorable mention representatives.

Monessen, which finished fifth in the standings, had four players selected to the Second Team and five more get honorable mention.

The conference coaches selected a 27-player First Team and a 25-player Second Team.

Monessen’s Second Team selections were seniors Zach Wheeler (OL), Tyler Mikita (LB) and Rashawn Ford (DL) and junior Derrez Tyree (DL).

Getting honorable mention status for the Greyhounds were seniors Jevante Carlock (WR/DB), Brandon Lenhart (RB/LB) and Noah Rullo (QB), junior Lavelle Rush (WR/DB) and sophomore Jaron Youngblood (WR/DB).

Rullo threw for 1,092 yards and 13 touchdowns while closing his career as Monessen’s all-time leading passer.

Rush led Monessen in receiving with 15 receptions for 310 yards. He also led the team in scoring with 8 TDs.

Clairton’s First Team selections included Lamont Wade, who made the team on both offense (RB) and defense (DB). Other Bears picked on the First Team are James Hines (WR), Aaron Mathews (WR), Ryan Williams (QB), Israel Melvin (OL), Raymone Clifford (LB) and Will Hampton (DL).

Second Team picks were Harrison Dreher (RB), Tyreike Hammonds (DB) and Jjuan Jackson (LB).

At the banquet, individual honors such as Co-Linemen of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the year will be announced.

Jeff Oliver is a sports editor for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 724-684-2666 or [email protected].

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.