Plum athletic greats honored at induction banquet |

Plum athletic greats honored at induction banquet

Michael Love
Photo courtesy of Danny Moriarity Photography
The Plum High School Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2014 are, in front, from left, Joe Dello Stritto Sr., Lisa Poeschl Vavrek, Diane Sujansky Taylor and Jack Savage. In back are Mark Pupilli, Craig Cooley, Joe Manganello, Dave Blotzer and Michael John Kovalchick. The group was inducted on Nov. 13, 2014.
Photo courtesy of Danny Moriarity Photography
A group of past inductees were on hand to celebrate the Class of 2014 for the Plum High School Sports Hall of Fame on Nov. 13, 2014. In front, from left, are John Schmeck, Marilyn Bott, Monica Zalevsky Williams and Rich Demko. In back are Lou Klauss, Dan Zelahy, Jeff Schmeck, John Ratesic, Joe Naunchik, Mike Larko Sr., Joe Ionta and Randy Cosgrove. Other past inductees in attendance were Tony Bonura, John Garcia, Julie George McCormick and Matt Morgan.

The Plum High School Sports Hall of Fame celebrated its 10th induction class last Thursday at a banquet ceremony at Edgewood Country Club in Churchill.

The organization’s president, Bill Rometo Jr., said it seemed like only yesterday that the first induction class was enshrined. That 2005 class included his father, Plum football coaching legend Bill Rometo Sr., standout Mustangs wrestler Bill Closson and volleyball coaching great Mike Larko Jr.

Larko Jr., along with fellow Class of 2005 member Joe Naunchik, were among 16 past inductees on hand to welcome this year’s class of nine into the hall-of-fame family.

Honored and enshrined as the Class of 2014 were Dave Blotzer (Class of 1977), Craig Cooley (Class of 1992), Joe Dello Stritto (Coach, 1966-1985), Michael John Kovalchick (Class of 1962), Joe Manganello (Class of 1998), Lisa Poeschl Vavrek (Class of 1997), Mark Pupilli (Class of 1976), Jack Savage (Class of 1985) and Diane Sujansky Taylor (Class of 2003).

“This class is of high quality and very diverse from the different sports to the spans of years,” Rometo said.

“Plum is a special place, and it’s good to get the word out that people appreciate that.”

A common theme from the inductees throughout the evening was how their time in the Plum Borough system helped form a solid foundation for future endeavors, from the school district and the community to family, friends, teachers and coaches.

They spoke of the quality of education, not only in the classroom but also in their field of sport.

Former coach Joe Dello Stritto said he was grateful for his years as a coach and teacher at Plum and his ability to help develop students and athletes. He coached football, wrestling, track and volleyball 20 years in the district and served as a teacher 36 years before retiring in 2001.

He led O’block Junior High wrestling teams to an 80-28-2 record from 1971 to 1985, and that included a 65-3 mark from 1977 to 1985.

“There were two or three inductees who saw people special in their lives (at the banquet) who they didn’t know were coming and hadn’t seen for years,” Rometo said. “That’s what makes this banquet special every year. It’s a reunion of a Plum’s athletic family that spans 40 or 50 years and even longer. It’s a celebration of Plum’s athletic history and those who have found success in it.”

This year’s nine inductees brings the total number enshrined to 78 over the past decade.

“Time flies when you’re having fun, said Plum’s Andy Sebastian, the master of ceremonies for the induction festivities.

Sebastian is known as the longtime public address announcer for Plum football games. Eye issues forced him out of the press box for the 2014 season.

In addition to Larko Jr. and Naunchik, past inductees in attendance were Tony Bonura (2011), Marilyn Bott (2011), Randy Cosgrove (2009), Rich Demko (2010), John Garcia (2008), Joe Ionta (2012), Lou Klauss (2013), Julie George McCormick (2008), Matt Morgan (2010), John Ratesic (2013), Jeff Schmeck (2013), John Schmeck (2011), Monica Zalevsky Williams and Dan Zelahy (2010).

“I couldn’t have grown up in a better place or with better people,” said 2014 inductee Jack Savage, a member of the 1983 Plum football team that brought home a WPIAL Quad-A championship.

Runner-up finishes at the WPIAL and PIAA wrestling tournaments in 1985 highlighted his Plum varsity wrestling career.

Savage went on to a solid football career at Pennsylvania’s Franklin & Marshall College.

The pride of Plum was not lost on Blotzer, a Plum resident who helped the Plum wrestling team record its first undefeated season in 1975-76. He also was a part of the wrestling team’s first section-title season.

“I’m proud to say I’m a Plum Mustang,” Blotzer said. “It meant everything to represent the Purple and Gold.”

Sujansky Taylor is the youngest member of the hall of fame.

She was the first Plum athlete to qualify for states in three events, accomplishing the feat in cross country, swimming and track and field before a standout athletic career at Lock Haven University.

Sujansky Taylor now wears the hat of a coach as a mentor to swimmers for the Jewish Community Center club team.

A goal of the hall of fame each year is to connect the inductees and their athletic accomplishments to the current Plum standout athletes.

A select group of those athletes — Nathan Turchick, Mike McGuire, Ronny Amato, Wil Fuhrer, Phil Mahr, Rachel Satira, Billy Bob Baird, Zach Martin and Crista Messenger — escorted the Class of 2014 inductees into the ceremony room and also introduced each inductee

Plaques honoring the hall-of-fame classes continued to be on display in the lobby of the main gym at Plum High School.

Information on the Plum High School Sports Hall of Fame can be found at

Included at that site is the process for nominating a potential inductee and the criteria for induction.

Michael Love is a Trib Total Media staff writer. Reach him at 412-388-5825 or at [email protected].

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.