ShareThis Page
Scholarships |


| Tuesday, March 11, 2008 12:00 a.m

Scholarships offered through Community Foundation

The Armstrong County Community Foundation invites all 2008 high school graduates, college students, and non-traditional adult students to explore the many diverse scholarships available to help students attain their educational goals. Details and scholarship applications are available online at the ACCF Web site at or by calling 724-548-1261.

Completed applications may be submitted online, by fax to 724-548-4275, or by postal mail to the Armstrong County Community Foundation, 610 N. McKean St., Kittanning, PA 16201.

Applicants are advised to read the criteria for each grant carefully and submit by the deadline of Saturday.

Educational Trust aids undergraduates

Each year the Armstrong Educational Trust awards scholarships to aid qualified students who are seeking undergraduate degrees.

• The Ralph and Mary Lou McAllister Scholarship Trust Fund: The Armstrong Educational Trust anticipates awarding three scholarships in the amount of $2,500. The applicant must live in the borough of Ford City or at a residence with a Ford City Post Office address.

• The Helen and Fred Ortman Scholarship Trust Fund: One scholarship in the amount of $1,000 is available. The applicant must be a senior who attends Ford City High School and has a grade-point average of at least 3.0.

Scholarship applications are due by Saturday.

Scholarship descriptions and applications are available at all local high school guidance offices and the Armstrong Educational Trust, West Hills Industrial Park, 81 Glade Drive, Kittanning, PA 16201.

For information, contact the foundation office at 724-548-5897.

Morgan scholarship applications available

Applications and specific instructions for the Griffith D. Morgan Scholarship are available in the guidance office of Karns City Junior-Senior High School and Kittanning Senior High School. Application forms must be submitted (postmarked) by April 30 in order to be considered for a scholarship.

An eligible applicant must be a permanent resident of the borough of East Brady, Brady Township (Clarion County), Sugarcreek Township, Bradys Bend Township, or Washington Township (Armstrong County) and enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited four-year college or university program for the 2008-2009 school year. Students who are part-time or enrolled at vocational, technical or community colleges are not eligible and need not apply.

A first-time applicant must have an official transcript of high school grades and evidence of admission to a college or university attached to the application. An applicant currently in college must attach an official transcript of grades with the application.

In order to be eligible for the Griffith D. Morgan Scholarship, applicants must apply each year and must follow specifically the instructions given with the application.

FAFSA paperwork online or in print

The 2008-00 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is now available, and students and their families can either file a traditional form or submit an application electronically.

The FAFSA is used to determine students’ eligibility for almost all types of student aid, including state grants, Federal Pell Grant, Keystone Stafford Loans, regular Federal Stafford Loans and other federal and institutional programs.

Families may visit to access the 2008-09 online FAFSA and a FAFSA on the Web Worksheet to help walk them through the application process step by step. Students may also file online at or

Students planning to enroll in baccalaureate degree programs — including those enrolled in college transfer programs at community or junior colleges — must file the FAFSA by May 1.

Students planning to attend business, trade and technical schools, hospital schools of nursing, or two-year non-transferable programs at community, junior, or four-year colleges must file the FAFSA by Aug. 1.

Categories: News
TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.