South Fayette’s Diven, Blackhawk’s Watson-Trent top Northwest Eight honors |

South Fayette’s Diven, Blackhawk’s Watson-Trent top Northwest Eight honors

Chris Harlan
Christopher Horner | Tribune-Review
South Fayette quarterback Jamie Diven throws a pass to Charley Rossi for the winning touchdown during the WPIAL Class 4A championship game against Thomas Jefferson Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018, at Heinz Field.

Northwest Eight champion South Fayette earned nine first-team spots on the all-conference team including quarterback Jamie Diven, a 3,000-yard passer for the Lions.

Joining him were Mike Trimbur, Tom Elia, Ryan Coe, Ben Coyne and Ryan Kokoski. Trimber, Elia and Coe were named first-team on both offense and defense.

Diven and Blackhawk’s Marques Watson-Trent shared offensive MVP honors.

Montour’s George Padezanin was named the conference’s defensive MVP.

First-team offense

Jamie Diven, South Fayette, QB, sr.

Gino Mavero, Beaver, RB, sr.

Marques Watson-Trent, Blackhawk, RB, jr.

Johnny Crise, Highlands, WR, jr.

Mike Trimbur, South Fayette, WR, sr.

Devin Sams, New Castle, TE, sr.

Tyler Summers, Blackhawk, C, sr.

Josh Bartley, New Castle, C, sr.

Tom Elia, South Fayette, G, sr.

Cole Lassinger, Knoch, G, jr.

Kail Davidson, Blackhawk, G, jr.

George Padezanin, Montour, OT, jr.

Jordan Wright, Blackhawk, OT, sr.

Demetris McKnight, New Castle, athlete, jr.

Ryan Coe, South Fayette, K, sr.

Offensive MVP: Marques Watson-Trent, Blackhawk; Jamie Diven, South Fayette

First-team defense

Scott Fraser, Knoch, DB, jr.

Ryan Kokoski, South Fayette, DB, sr.

Mike Trimbur, South Fayette, DB, sr.

Marques Watson-Trent, Blackhawk, DB, jr.

Ryan Heckathorn, Blackhawk, OLB, jr.

Devin Sams, New Castle, OLB, sr.

Kail Davidson, Blackhawk, ILB, jr.

Noah Yates, Beaver, ILB, sr.

Noah Gillette, Highlands, ILB, sr.

Rocco Robinson, New Castle, DE, jr.

Ben Coyne, South Fayette, DE, sr.

George Padezanin, Montour, DT, jr.

Tom Elia, South Fayette, DT, sr.

Ryan Coe, South Fayette, P, sr.

Defensive MVP: George Padezanin, Montour

Coach of the Year: Zack Hayward, Blackhawk

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Chris at [email protected] or via Twitter @CHarlan_Trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.