Pirates notebook: McCutchen is MVP finalist; Hurdle finalist for NL top manager |

Pirates notebook: McCutchen is MVP finalist; Hurdle finalist for NL top manager

For the third year in a row, Pirates center fielder Andrew McCutchen is a finalist for the National League Most Valuable Player Award.

This time, he is an underdog.

The three finalists — who include Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw and Miami Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton — were announced Tuesday. The winner will be revealed at 6 p.m. Nov. 13 on MLB Network.

A year ago, McCutchen got 28 of 30 first-place votes to become the sixth Pirates player to win the award. McCutchen also finished third in 2012.

The frontrunner this year appears to be Kershaw, a 21-game winner who also is a heavy favorite to win the NL Cy Young Award.

Kershaw led the majors in wins, ERA (1.77), winning percentage (.875) and WHIP (0.857). He could become the first pitcher to be named NL MVP since Bob Gibson in 1968.

McCutchen batted .314 and led the majors with a .410 on-base percentage. His .952 OPS was tops in the league.

Hurdle up for top manager

After guiding the injury riddled Pirates back into the postseason, Clint Hurdle again is a finalist for the NL Manager of the Year Award.

The other finalists are Matt Williams of the Washington Nationals and Bruce Bochy of the World Series champion San Francisco Giants. The winner will be revealed at 6 p.m. Tuesday on the MLB Network.

Hurdle won the award last year. He could become just the second back-to-back winner, joining Atlanta’s Bobby Cox (2004-05).

Hurdle, 57, limped through the year with a bad hip that eventually required surgery. At various times during the season, the Pirates had standouts such as McCutchen, Russell Martin, Gerrit Cole, Neil Walker and Pedro Alvarez go down with injuries.

The Pirates went 88-74 and clinched the top NL wild-card berth. They were eliminated, 8-0, by the Giants.

Voting for MLB’s four major awards — MVP, Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Rookie of the Year — was conducted by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Ballots were due on the final day of the regular season.

The Rookies of the Year will be revealed Monday, and the Cy Young winners will be announced Wednesday.

Martin, Marte miss out

Martin and Starling Marte were runners-up for Gold Glove Awards.

Yadier Molina of the St. Louis Cardinals edged Martin to win his seventh consecutive award at catcher.

Martin led the league with 12 defensive runs saved. He had a .994 fielding percentage and threw out 39 percent of attempted base-stealers.

Christian Yelich of the Miami Marlins won the Gold Glove in left field, beating out Marte.

Marte, 26, ranked second behind Yelich among NL left fielders with 10 defensive runs saved. Marte had a .968 fielding percentage and four assists.

Gold Glove winners are determined by a mix of major league manager ballots (75 percent) and statistical data (25 percent).

Martin, Liriano mum on offers

There’s no immediate indication whether Martin and/or left-hander Francisco Liriano will accept their $15.3 million qualifying offers for 2015. Neither player’s agent responded to repeated requests for comment from the Tribune-Review.

The deadline to accept an offer is Monday.

Citing sources, Jon Heyman of said the Chicago Cubs will make a big push to sign Martin as a free agent if he turns down the Pirates’ offer. Heyman said Martin is seeking a five-year contract.

Martin and Liriano are among 12 players who got qualifying offers. Tuesday, Ken Rosenthal of Fox Sports reported that San Francisco Giants third baseman Pablo Sandoval has rejected his offer.

Rob Biertempfel is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. Reach him at [email protected] or via Twitter @BiertempfelTrib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.