Returning champs Phipps, Hillegas among 9 WPIAL wrestlers advancing to Powerade finals |
High School Wrestling

Returning champs Phipps, Hillegas among 9 WPIAL wrestlers advancing to Powerade finals

Paul Schofield

Nine wrestlers from the WPIAL advanced to the finals of the 2018 Powerade Tournament on Saturday night after picking up victories in the semifinals at Canon-McMillan.

Among the finalists are Norwin junior Kurtis Phipps and North Hills junior Sam Hillegas, who going after their second Powerade titles.

Phipps, who won the 2017 106-pound title, will face Stroudsburg senior Cameron Enriquez in the 120 final. Phipps defeated Burrell sophomore Ian Oswalt, 5-0, in the semifinals. Shaler senior Ryan Sullivan was hoping to make it an all-WPIAL final but he fell to Enriquez, 7-5.

The all-WPIAL final is between Hillegas, the 2016 113-pound winner, against Kiski Area senior Darren Miller at 132.

Hillegas defeated Latrobe junior Gabe Willochell, 12-3, and Miller edged Oak Park River Forest (Illinois) senior Eddie Boliver, 4-3.

Two Seneca Valley wrestlers, sophomore Dylan Chappell and sophomore Alejandro Herrera-Rondon, advanced to the finals. Chappell pinned Council Rock North sophomore Kyle Hauserman at 106 and Herrera-Rondon blanked Oak Park River Forest junior Jake Rundell, 2-0.

The feature match of the finals features Canon-McMillan junior Gerrit Nijenhuis and Erie Prep senior Carter Starocci, a Penn State recruit. Nijenhuis lost a controversial decision to Starocci in the PIAA semifinals. Starocci was awarded a takedown at the buzzer when it looked like Nijenhuis should have been awarded the takedown.

Nijenhuis defeated Belle Vernon senior Scott Joll, 6-4, in the semifinals and Starocci topped Mt. Lebanon junior Luke Stout, 7-3.

The other WPIAL finalists are: Thomas Jefferson senior Max Shaw at 195, Derry senior Dom DeLuca at 220 and McGuffey senior Christian Clutter at 170.

Shaw beat Saint Joseph Academy freshman Kolby Franklin, 8-3; DeLuca majored St. Edwards, Ohio senior Seamus O’Malley, 11-0 and Clutter needed overtime to edge Mason, Ohio senior Kamal Adewumi, 6-2.

Kiski Area had two wrestlers fall in the semifinals: Jack Blumer at 160 and Nick Delp at 170. Also falling were Hempfield senior Kyle Burkholder at 113, Franklin Regional sophomore Carter Dibert at 106, Canon-McMillan senior Kenny Hayman at 126 and Norwin junior Ryan Weinzen at 220.

2018 Powerade Wrestling Tournament

At Canon-McMillan High School


106: Gary Steen, Reynolds, d. Carter Dibert, Franklin Regional, 3-0; Dylan Chappell, Seneca Valley p. Kyle Hauserman, Council Rock North, 4:46.

113: Kurt McHenry, St. Paul’s, Md., d. Kyle Burkholder, Hempfield, 3-1; Alejandro Herrera-Rondon, Seneca Valley d. Jake Rundell, Oak Park River Forest, Ill., 2-0.

120: Kurtis Phipps, Norwin d. Ian Oswalt, Burrell, 4-0; Cameron Enriquez, Stroudsburg d. Ryan Sullivan, Shaler, 7-5.

126: Angelo Rini, St. Edwards, Ohio d. Kenny Hayman, Canon-McMillan, 5-3 (SV); J.J. Wilson, Cedar Cliff d. Nicky Cabanillas, DePaul Catholic, N.J., 4-0.

132: Sam Hillegas, North Hills m.d. Gabe Willochell, Latrobe, 12-3; Darren Miller, Kiski Area d. Eddie Boliver, Oak Park River Forest, Ill., 4-3.

138: Ed Scott, DuBois p. Rocco Bartolo, Reynolds, 3:55; Bryce Hepner, St. Edwards, Ohio p. Darby Diedrich, Howell, N.J., 5:06.

145: Christopher Donathan, Mason, Ohio d. Cameron Robinson, Council Rock North, 8-3; Bryce Andonian, St. Edwards d. John Marton Best, Parkersburg, W.Va., 12-6.

152: Sam Dover, St. Edwards d. Henry Hague, Malvern Prep, 8-5; Ryan Vulakh, Pope John Paul II d. Cooper Kropman, Penfield, N.Y., 4-2 (SV).

160: Tyler Stoltzfus, Saint Joseph’s Academy d. Trey Kibe, Mifflin County, 1-0; Connor O’Neil, DePaul Catholic, N.J. d. Jack Blumer, Kiski Area, 9-5.

170: Jared McGill, Chestnut Ridge d. Nick Delp, Kiski Area, 8-2; Christian Clutter, McGuffey d. Kamal Adewumi, Mason, Ohio, 6-2 (TB-2).

182: Carter Starocci, Erie Cathedral Prep d. Luke Stout, Mt. Lebanon, 7-3; Gerrit Nijenhuis, Canon-McMillan d. Scott Joll, Belle Vernon, 6-4.

195: Max Shaw, Thomas Jefferson d. Kolby Franklin, Saint Joseph’s Academy, 8-3; Donovon Ball, Cedar Cliff d. Gable Crebs, Montoursville, 8-7.

220: Braxton Amos, Parkersburg South p. Ryan Weinzen, Norwin, :49; Dom DeLuca, Derry Area m.d. Seamus O’Malley, St. Edwards, Ohio, 11-0.

285: Kawaun Deboe, Eroe Prep d. Ashford, Hollis, Oak Park River Forest, Ill., 6-0; Louden Haga, Parkersburg South, W.Va., d. Nathan Hoaglund, Mt. Lebanon, 5-1.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.