Steelers tight end Jesse James catches a pass before crossing the goal line on a play that was ultimately ruled an incomplete pass late in the fourth quarter against the Patriots on Sunday, Dec. 17, 2017, at Heinz Field. AP photo
"By rule, to complete the process of the catch..." You already said it was complete. "... He must survive the ground." He already fell to the ground with control. “... And by that we mean he must maintain control of the football." He did, which is why he was able to lunge for the goal line. Go on, Al. "As we see here, he does put the ball over the goal line extended." So ... touchdown, right? You're making a good case for it. "Once he gets there, he loses control of the football, and then the ball hits the ground — we can see here the ball touches the ground." Sure, but he crossed the plane of the goal line, so no problem, right? Sum it up for us, Al. Obviously this should've gone the Steelers' way. "So therefore two things occur." Right. A completed pass and crossing the goal line. Touchdown, yes? "He loses control of the football, and the ball touches the ground prior to him regaining control. "Therefore the ruling on the field of a touchdown was changed to an incomplete pass." So since the would-be touchdown was overturned, there obviously was conclusive evidence that James' hand was not underneath the ball, as the NFL sees it. Despite one of its senior officials contradicting himself by calling it a completed pass to open his explanation. Honest mistake or cluelessness? Your call.Copyright ©2025— Trib Total Media, LLC (TribLIVE.com)