Steelers notebook: Team’s 1st Super Bowl winners to be honored |

Steelers notebook: Team’s 1st Super Bowl winners to be honored

The Steelers will honor their first Super Bowl team at halftime of Sunday’s game against the Saints as part of the team’s alumni weekend.

The 2014 season marks the 40th anniversary of the Steelers’ first title — a 16-6 victory over the Vikings in Super Bowl IX at Tulane Stadium.

The Steelers won three more Super Bowls the next five years.

“You go ‘Wow, 40 years,’ ” running back Rocky Bleier told “A lot of things have passed in those 40 years. The players that have gone. The Chief (Art Rooney Sr.) is not here, Chuck (Noll) is gone.”

Five starters from Super Bowl IX died, including three members of the Steel Curtain defensive line in Dwight White, Ernie Holmes and L.C. Greenwood. Ten players from the 1974 team have passed.

Super Bowl IX MVP Franco Harris, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, Mel Blount, Jack Ham and Andy Russell along with other former Steelers are expected to be there. Terry Bradshaw and Jack Lambert — two of the most popular Steelers of the ’70s — will not attend.

“That always creates a big-game atmosphere,” Steelers coach Mike Tomlin said. “I know our guys will be excited about seeing those guys and having the opportunity to watch those guys be honored.”

The Steelers won the AFC Central in 1974, going 10-3-1 before winning playoff games against the Bills (32-14) and Raiders (24-13).

Saints coach Sean Payton, who grew up in Scranton during the ’70s , said he remembers the Steelers always on TV.

“They had a remarkable stretch run over the years, so we’ve all seen those highlights,” Payton said.

Harris, who rushed 34 times for 158 yards and a 9-yard touchdown in Super Bowl IX, will be the honorary co-captain for the coin toss.

Mark Kaboly is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. Reach him at [email protected] or via Twitter @MarkKaboly_Trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.